House Run Derby 2022: Predictions, regulations, bracket, and TV time for MLB slugfest

The 2022 MLB All-Superstar Week in Los Angeles has after all arrived, with the breathtaking backdrop of Dodger Stadium enjoying host to this 12 months’s occasions. Sooner than the 2022 MLB All-Superstar Recreation takes position on Tuesday night time, probably the most absolute best sluggers within the sport will compete within the House Run Derby.

The sector is led via Pete Alonso, the New York Mets first baseman who is looking for his 3rd immediately House Run Derby name. Alonso is making an attempt to develop into the primary ever three-peat champion within the match. Ken Griffey Jr. is the one different participant to ever win the House Run Derby 3 times when he took house the crown in 1994, 1998, and 1999.

Alonso gained’t have a very easy highway to every other name. His first spherical opponent is Ronald Acuna Jr., the Atlanta Braves celebrity who Alonso defeated within the semifinals of the 2019 derby with a buzzer-beating dinger. Kyle Schwarber additionally looms at the different aspect of the bracket. Schwarber leads the Nationwide League in house runs with 26, and would be the most sensible seed within the box. Schwarber’s first spherical opponent is St. Louis Cardinals legend Albert Pujols. At 42 years previous, Pujols would be the oldest House Run Derby player ever, breaking a mark Barry Bonds set at 39 years previous.

Right here’s the whole thing you wish to have to understand in regards to the 2022 MLB House Run Derby.

House run derby bracket 2022 and matchups

Take a look at the overall bracket for the House Run Derby at Dodger Stadium.

Listed here are the matchups:

1. Kyle Schwarber, Phillies vs. 8. Albert Pujols, Cardinals
4. Juan Soto, Nationals vs. 5. José Ramírez, Guardians
3. Corey Seager, Rangers vs. 6. Julio Rodríguez, Mariners
2. Pete Alonso, Mets vs. 7. Ronald Acuña, Jr., Braves


Pete Alonso: +200
Kyle Schwarber: +330
Ronald Acuña, Jr: +600
Juan Soto: +600
Corey Seager: +900
Julio Rodriguez: +1000
José Ramirez: +1600
Albert Pujols: +2200

Participant to hit longest HR

Ronald Acuña, Jr: +200
Kyle Schwarber: +340
Juan Soto: +500
Pete Alonso: +650
Julio Rodriguez: +800
Corey Seager: +900
Albert Pujols: +1200
José Ramirez: +1500

MLB House Run Derby regulations in 2022

The House Run Derby includes a head-to-head layout with an eight-man bracket. The champion should win 3 rounds via hitting extra house runs than their opponent throughout the allocated time period.

The primary spherical and 2nd spherical of the derby may have 3 mins at the clock. The general spherical lasts for 2 mins. Each competitor can be awarded 30 seconds of bonus time following every spherical. A hitter can earn an further 30 seconds of bonus time in the event that they hit a house run that measures no less than 475-feet within the law length of that spherical.

As soon as a participant surpasses their matchup in house runs, the clock stops and the spherical is over. Whoever hits probably the most house runs in every head-to-head matchup advances till a winner is topped.

A house run counts so long as the pitch leaves the pitcher’s hand earlier than the clock expires.

Hitters have one timeout to absorb every spherical. Timeouts ultimate for 45 seconds. Timeouts aren’t authorized right through bonus time.

MLB House Run Derby seeding, defined

According to “The seeds have been decided via the individuals’ 2022 house run totals via play on July 13. Tiebreakers have been decided via 2021 house run totals.”

House Run Derby predictions 2022

Beginning at the left aspect of the bracket, I’ll take Schwarber over Pujols, and Nationals phenom Juan Soto over José Ramírez. I’ll take Soto over Schwarber to advance to the overall.

At the proper aspect of the bracket, I’ll cross with Alonso over Ronald Acuña Jr. Don’t be stunned if that’s probably the most thrilling matchup of the primary spherical. I’ll take Corey Seager, in his go back to Dodger Stadium, over 21-year-old Mariners rookie Julio Rodríguez within the different matchup. Alonso will take out Seager to advance to the overall.

I’ll take Pete Alonso over Juan Soto within the name spherical. Alonso’s 24 house runs are the second one maximum within the box in the back of Schwarber, and we already know he flourishes on this environment. Possibly we’re only a sucker for a groovy tale, however we’ll pick out Alonso to three-peat.

How one can watch 2022 House Run Derby

Date: Monday, July 18
Time: 8:00 p.m. ET
Location: Dodger Stadium, Los Angeles, CA
Circulate: WatchESPN